Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
The review period is only during the 30-day appeal period. Property owners may not further disclose the sales information to other persons or property owners. The sales information may be introduced and revealed to the County Board of Equalization during a formal appeal, but further disclosure is prohibited.
Because the sales information is crucial to this analysis, the assessor may need to verify the information with one or more of the parties to the transaction. This may be done by phone, mail or in person.
Wyoming law requires that the Treasurer’s Office send a tax bill to all property owners. If taxes are paid by a mortgage company, the notice is just for the owner’s information. All mortgage companies and tax services with accounts in Converse County receive the tax roll electronically. Keep the bill for your records. Mortgage companies will be notified separately.
Wyoming law requires that tax notices be sent to the owner of record as of January 1st of the tax year. Since these are the 2022 taxes, they were sent to the owner as of January 1, 2022. When property is sold after January 1, there is usually some arrangement between the seller and buyer regarding who owes what part of the current year property taxes. The new owner will also receive a tax bill in most cases.
We only send out property taxes statements once a year in September, with 1st half and 2nd half stubs enclosed.
As between the grantor and grantee of any property where there is no express agreement in writing as to which party shall pay the taxes that may be assessed on the property, if the property is conveyed on or after January 1, the grantor shall pay the taxes for that year. If there is an agreement between the two parties then obey by the agreement.
There's a line in the valuation area of the notice in the upper right corner that says "Less Veteran Exemption." If there is an amount there (usually 3,000), a veteran exemption was applied to the account. To calculate the actual dollars applied, take the amount on the veteran exemption line, multiply it by the Total Mills from the levy section and divide by 1,000. (for example, 3000 X 57.900 / 1000 = $173.70 actual tax reduction)
Please get in contact with the Assessors’s office. 307-358-2741
The County Assessor has the responsibility to assign a taxable value to all tax accounts.Therefore, you must get in contact with the Assessor’s Office for explanation. All taxpayers should have received a tax assessment in April, though, notifying them of the upcoming taxable value.
Wyoming laws dictate how many “mills” each taxing entity is allowed to assess for property taxes.We collect the tax and forward it to those entities. If you want more information about how that money is spent, you should contact that particular taxing authority.
The Douglas school district has an educational agreement with Gillette. If you need more information contact the school district.
Rates for sales and use taxes are the same. Currently, the sales tax rate for the State of Wyoming, as set by the legislature, is 4%. Converse County also has an optional 1% sales tax levied by the county, which makes the sales tax rate in Converse County 5%. Other counties, like Niobrara, have additional capital facilities taxes that can make their rates go as high as 6%. The rate you pay when you purchase a vehicle depends on your place of residency.
Sales tax is due on a vehicle each time the title is transferred to a new person in exchange for money or other consideration (parts, work, or more). Important: Wyoming law requires that sales tax must be paid on a vehicle within 60 days of the date of purchase . The 60 days includes weekends and holidays. If the sales tax is not paid within 60 days, the following charges apply: - a "civil fee" of $25 - interest at 1% per month the payment is overdue, commencing on the 66th day. - at 10 days past the due date, the "civil fees" becomes: $25 or 10%, whichever is higher. The 60 day period will begin running from the date on the invoice if the vehicle is purchased from a dealer, or the on a bill of sale or when the title was notarized if the vehicle is purchased from an individual. Sales tax can be paid at any time with or without the title being processed within the 60 days. For example, if a person purchases a vehicle for $20,000, and pays the sales tax on the 76th day, they would pay: Sales Tax (5%) - $1,000 Civil Fee (10% of $1,000) - $100 Interest (1% of $1,000) - $10 Total - $1,110
If the purchase was made out of state, the tax rate will be determined by the purchaser's county residence. Click for more info on out of state purchases. For example, if someone from Converse County; 5% (6% from April 1, 2013 through November 30, 2015); purchases a vehicle in Denver (7%), the purchaser would pay 5% (6% April 1, 2013 to November 30, 2015).
Important: Wyoming law requires that a bill of sale must be presented to pay sales tax when a vehicle is purchased from a dealer. When a vehicle is purchased from an individual, no bill of sale is required.
The amount of sales tax due depends on: - Sales price of the vehicle, and - The applicable sales tax rate.
If you pay 7% sales tax in another state, the State of Wyoming will credit that 7% towards the 5% you owe, and again you will owe no sales or use tax in Wyoming. However, the state will not issue a refund for the additional 2% collected by the other state. If you pay 4% sales tax in another state, Wyoming will credit the 4% towards the 5% owed, and the Treasurer's Office will collect an additional 1% tax.
If you finance the sales tax with your vehicle payment, the auto dealer must remit the entire amount of the sales tax collected before you can register your vehicle. Normally, dealers send it directly to the Treasurer's Office and you receive a receipt in the mail. It is the purchaser's responsibility to ensure that the dealer pays the sales tax to the Treasurer's Office.
The money returned to the cities and counties is based on: - Where the vehicle was purchased, and - The population of the city or county, based on the last federal census.
Counties that have 1% Optional Sales Taxes (like Converse County) or a 1% Capital Facilities Tax keep 100% of the additional 1% collected. For example, if a vehicle is purchased in Casper (4% state + 1% optional) and the sales tax is paid in Converse County (4% state + 1% optional), the Department of Revenue would distribute the 1% to Casper, place two-thirds of the 4% in the State General Fund and distribute the other one-third to Natrona County cities and towns based on the population.
If a vehicle is purchased in Laramie County (4% state + 1% optional + 1% capital facilities) and the sales tax is paid in Converse County, the Department of Revenue would distribute 2% to Casper, place two-thirds of the 4% in the State General Fund and distribute the other one-third of the 4% to Niobara County, cities and towns based on the population.
If a vehicle is purchased in Fremont County (4% state) and the sales tax is paid in Converse County (4% state + 1% option), the Department of Revenue would distribute 1% to Converse County, place two-thirds of the 4% in the State General Fund and distribute the other one-third of the 4% to Fremont County, cities and towns based on population.
If a person gives you a vehicle that has been licensed in Wyoming or another state, there is no sales tax due on the transaction. Proof must be provided that the vehicle was legally licensed or registered. A person may also purchase a vehicle, pay sales tax, and then give it to another person without sales tax being due a second time. However, if a person purchase a vehicle, does not pay sales tax, and then gives the vehicle to you, either you or the purchaser will have to pay sales tax on the original sales price. Also, a vehicle that is financed at a bank (has a lien on the title) cannot be given as a gift, since vehicle ownership is shared by the title and lien holder. In that case, the person receiving the vehicle would owe sales tax on the amount that it still owed against the vehicle.
Of course, there are many more. Should you have a question about the applicability of sales tax, contact the Wyoming Department of Revenue.
Important: The Game & Fish Department requires proof that sales tax has been paid on a boat before they will issue a boat registration. Therefore, it is important to keep any receipt that shows sales tax has been paid.
The sales tax rate on a boat is the same for other vehicles or trailers. View a listing of the sales tax rate.
Yes, lease companies are required to charge sales tax based on the sales tax rate of the county that you reside in. The amount is based on what your payment is.
Example if your payment is $300.00 your tax amount included would be $15.00.
Yes. Any "SALE" creates a taxable event when tangible property is exchanged for cash or consideration.
Consideration means recompense or payment which includes to the parties to a sale. Consideration is not limited to cash. Assumption of debt is a form of consideration.
Sales tax would be collected on the remainder of the loan.
Sales tax is owed when a person buys out the lease. Sales tax is due on the remaining amount owed or the cost of what the vehicle was bought out for. We will require a bill of sale from the lease company or the bank.
Yes, if the home is being purchased brand new.
Sale of a Transportable home shall be collected upon the first sale of the transportable home. The tax shall be collected on 70% of the sales price of the transportable home. Most of the time the dealership will collect this tax and remit it to the State of Wyoming.
For example: a mobile home brand new costs $150,000.
You would take 150,000 X 70% which would be $105,000.
Then you would take $105,000 X 5% which would equal $5,250. This would be the sales tax they owed.
No tax shall be collected upon any subsequent sale of the home.
If you win a vehicle in a raffle, lottery, or anything else, sales tax must either be paid by the group giving away the vehicle or by the winner. If the group giving away the vehicle is a non-profit or tax exempt, they would have no tax liability and neither would the winner. If the group raffling the vehicles is taxable, the sales responsibility belongs to that group. The winner is still responsible for licensing. The sales tax amount would be based on the "fair market" value of the vehicle, or generally the Blue Book value.
Yes, your title does not have to be recorded in order to pay your sales tax. Our office would just need the Year, Make, Vin number and purchase price to collect sales tax.
If a landowner doesn't pay thier property taxes, then the Treasurer's Office advertises the land for 3 weeks in the newspaper, along with a notice giving the time and place for the sale. People show up at the sale and sign up to become a purchaser. The names of all purchasers are mixed and random names are drawn in succession, beginning at 9 a.m. That purchaser can choose an available Parcel from the list of delinquent accounts. The purchaser pays the amount of the taxes due on the land, plus interest to the date of the sale, advertising fees, and a certificate fees. The county issues the purchaser a Certificate of Purchase, entitling the purchaser to a lien on the land. The county distributes the taxes paid by the purchaser to the taxing entities in the county. The landowner has 4 years from the date of the sale to pay the purchaser back his money, including all fees and 18% interest, or the purchaser may apply for a Tax Deed on the land.
There is a limit to one bidder per tax ID. This limits companies from showing up with dozens of bidders all operating under the same tax ID.
The easiest way to find out when the tax sale is being held is to keep an eye on the legal notices in the newspaper. Each county Treasurer is required to advertise the properties for sale, along with the date, time and place of sale in the county newspaper for 3 weeks prior to the sale. The Converse County Treasurer's Office advertises in both the Douglas Budget and the Glenrock Independent. When it is time for the tax sale parcels they are also listed on the Treasurer's homepage.
The County Assessor's Office can show a legal description and, if they have it, a look on the map to see what the parcel consists of and where it is located. It's also a good idea to take the legal description to the County Clerk's Office and check to see if there are any outstanding liens against the property. Although Wyoming Statutes indicate that a purchaser could take a Tax Deed subject only to special assessment liens, knowing the status of the property could help avoid problems later. When it comes to purchasing certificates on properties at the tax sale, it's definitely buyer beware.
The taxes and interest are distributed to the taxing entities, so they will receive the money they depend on to operate during the fiscal year. The advertising fee is used to pay for the cost of advertising the parcels for the 3 weeks prior to the sale in the local newspapers. The CP fee is used to pay for the costs of the certificates and the tax sale. The entire amount paid by the purchaser for the CP is subject to interest (even the fees) if the landowner redeems the property.
When the property is redeemed by the landowner, the CP holder is reimbursed for all the taxes and fees they paid plus a 3% penalty and 15% interest per year. The Certificate is then returned to the Treasurer's Office and the CP holder has no more interest in the property.
Here's an example of why you might want to do that - a landowner doesn't pay his 1999 taxes. The Treasurer's Office offers a certificate of purchase for the property at the tax sale in August, 2000. A CP holder pays the taxes, interest and fees and receives a Certificate of Purchase. In September, 2000, the 2000 taxes are billed. The CP holder may pay the taxes. If the CP holder does, they would be reimbursed the taxes plus 15% per year interest and a 3% penalty if the landowner ever redeems the property.
If the CP holder does not pay the taxes, and neither does the landowner, the Treasurer's Office will offer the property for sale again in August, 2001. A different purchaser buys a CP for the land at that sale. Once 4 years has passed for the original purchaser, he/she applies for a Tax Deed. But, in order to get a clear Tax Deed, the purchaser now has to redeem the property from the second CP holder, or as many as there were in the 4 years. That means the original CP holder must pay any subsequent CP holders the taxes plus interest, fees and penalties.
That's why most CP holders pay taxes for subsequent years - even though it's not required
Here's a breakdown of what's collected from the landowner at the time of redemption: - The CP Amount - A 3% penalty on the CP Amount - Interest on the CP Amount at 15% per year - Any subsequent taxes paid by the CP Holder - Interest on the subsequent taxes at 15% per year
The 3% penalty on the CP Amount allows the CP holder to get some return on the money paid at the sale even if the landowner redeems the property right away. For example, if a certificate is purchased at the tax sale for $500, and the landowner redeems the property the next day, the CP Holder won't receive much interest, but will be reimbursed all the money paid at the tax sale plus the 3% penalty. So, the CP Holder would receive an additional $15 for their 1 day investment.
Wyoming law also prescribes a strict procedure that must be followed in order to properly apply to the Treasurer's Office for a tax deed. It is the burden of the CP holder to make sure all the steps are followed properly, and failure to follow the procedure could result in the invalidation of the tax deed, should it ever be challenged in court.
Here are all the general rules: - The CP Holder must apply for a deed after 4 years from the date of sale but no later than 6 years. - Written notice must be served on each person in possession of the property and on the person in whose name the property was assessed. - If no person occupies the property, notice must be published in a newspaper in the county for 3 consecutive weeks. - The application for deed must be made after 3 months, and not more then 5 months from, the last notice in the newspaper. - Notice must be sent by certified mail to any mortgagees that have liens filed on record.
All notices must list: - When the CP Holder purchased the certificate - In whose name the property was taxed - A description of the real property - The year the property was taxed or assessed - When the Time of Redemption will expire - When application for the tax deed will be made - The amount of any special assessments levied on the property
Once the CP Holder has completed all these steps, they can apply to the Treasurer's Office for a tax deed by signing a statement certifying they have complied with all the procedures, and surrendering their original CP.
You can renew online, by phone, or by mail, and we will mail your registration and stickers to you! If you are in another WY county and it is more convenient, you can also renew there.
Yes! It is the same price, and you will get the same stickers.
No. It will be the same price and the stickers will remain in the same expiration month.
Example 1: Vehicle expired in June of 2018. You renew it in May of 2021. You pay the registration fee for June 2020 - June 2021. (This means the registration is only good for another month before you have to renew again!)
Example 2: Vehicle expired in June of 2018. You wait and renew it in July of 2021. You pay the registration fee for June 2021 - June 2022. (Now you are getting a full year's use out of it!)
Yes! You can register your vehicle in any county no matter where you live, and it is the same price across the state.
Contact the Converse County Clerk's Office at (307) 358-2244.
45 days from the purchase date. It does not need to be notarized.
60 days from the purchase date. It does not need to be notarized.
Yes, if your title has already been processed by the Clerk's Office.
Yes! We can issue a replacement for $6.
Yes. We can issue a replacement for $8. You will get a new plate(s) with a different number, new sticker(s), and registration.
If your plate number is reserved, you can re-order the same number through the Department of Transportation for $30 using this form.
We can only transfer credit to a new purchase by you that you are registering in WY. Otherwise, the credit is unfortunately lost. We cannot apply credit to another vehicle of yours that you want to renew.
Provide a current out-of-state registration, or a registration that is over 30 days expired with a WY title. Click here for more information.
You can either pay for a temporary worker permit, or pay the annual registration fee for Wyoming license plates. Depending on how long you will be working in Wyoming and the type of vehicle you drive, sometimes paying for one year of registration fees and receiving license plates can be cheaper than a temporary worker permit, even if you won't be here for the entire year. If you choose to do this, you do not have to surrender your out-of-state plates.
Get an estimate on registration fees, or read more information on temporary worker permits, including who is exempt.
Title: It is prepared by the Clerk's Office, contact them at (307) 358-2244.
Sales tax: You can pay it any time, the title does not need to be processed first. You have 60 days to pay it. Find out more about sales tax here.
Plates and registration: You can get your plates once there is a title processed in your name and sales tax has been paid.
Give us a call beforehand, we may just already have everything we need!
There are 3 things you may have to pay to title and register your new vehicle:
Yes! Keep your paperwork in the vehicle; as a WY resident you can legally drive with it for 60 days from the purchase date, whether or not the dealer gave you a temporary registration. If you want something that visibly shows you are legal, bring in your paperwork and we can give you a 60-day temporary for $5.